Madhabi Puri Buch – The SEBI Chairperson 

Priyanshi Pareek reports on SEBI Chairperson..


The Securities and Exchange Board of India was constituted as a non-statutory body on April 12, 1988 through a resolution of the Government of India.

The Securities and Exchange Board of India was established as a statutory body in the year 1992 and the provisions of the Securities and Exchange Board of India Act, 1992 (15 of 1992) came into force on January 30, 1992.

Who is Madhabi Puri Buch?

Madhabi Puri Buch is the chairperson of the securities regulatory body Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI). She is the first woman chairperson to lead SEBI.

Since April 2017, Madhabi Puri Buch has functioned closely alongside former SEBI chairperson Ajay Tyagi. Her appointment marked the first instance of an individual from the private sector holding this position. In her role as SEBI chairperson, Buch is acknowledged for swiftly implementing changes that have contributed to systemic improvements and the corporatization of the organization, thereby enhancing its efficiency.

She is the 10th Chairperson of SEBI.

Six months into her tenure—Buch took over as Sebi’s first female chief on March 2, 2022—she set the ball rolling to make the regulator more “developmental and facilitative” in its approach. Buch—who returns to Business Today’s Most Powerful Women in Business list this year after 2010, when she was MD & CEO of ICICI Securities—identified Sebi staff across departments to engage actively with industry and market participants to get their views and feedback, and help formulate better policies for the development of the market. More importantly, these responsibilities were made part of their KRAs or key responsibility areas.   

Former Ministers of SEBI

  • Dr. S.A. Dave was the first chairman of SEBI, serving from 12th April 1988 to 23rd August 1990.
  • G.V. Ramakrishna (24 Aug 1990 to 17 Jan 1994)
  • S.S. Nadkarni (17 Jan 1994 to 31 Jan 1995)
  • D.R. Mehta (21 Feb 1995 to 20 Feb 2002)
  • G.N. Bajpai (20 Feb 2002 to 18 Feb 2005)
  • M. Damodaran (18 Feb 2005 to 18 Feb 2008)
  • C.B. Bhave (19 Feb 2008 to 17 Feb 2011)
  • U.K. Sinha (18 Feb 2011 to 1 Mar 2017)
  • Ajay Tyagi (1 Mar 2017 to 28 Feb 2022)
EBNW Story on Google News

Published at :

EBNW Story is managed by students of Saksham Sanchar Foundation. If you like the efforts to make #BrilliantBharat, you can encourage them through donation - Thank you