Indian students ban: Australian Universities issues ban for Indian students from 6 states

Following the ban on Indian students, Australian Universities have taken measures to maintain the increase in complaints of visa fraud

Indian students are recently facing problems as some of the universities in Australia have banned Indian students from 6 states. Federation University in Victoria and Western Sydney University in New South Wales have separately announced that they will not intake Indian students in their universities.
The official ban is due to the increase in visa fraud.

The Department of Home Affairs, Australia has advised the education agents to not consider students from specific states including Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Punjab, Haryana, and the union territory Jammu & Kashmir. As students belonging to these states have shown “fraudulent” and “non-genuine” signs in their visa applications.

The Prime Minister is said to visit Australia on Monday. During the visit of the Prime Minister, a large-scale community event was organized for Indian Diaspora in Sydney. Thus, the ban was announced three days before the visit of the Prime Minister.

In a letter announced on May 19th, the Federation University said, “We hoped this would prove to be a short-term issue [but] it is now clear there is a trend emerging” concerning the increase in fraud in the visa application by the students. As the Department of Home Affairs has significantly declined the visa of some students from some Indian regions.

In a letter issued by Western Sydney University, the university stated, “The regions within India that have been identified as presenting the highest attrition risk are Punjab, Haryana and Gujarat,” as they observed a large number of dropouts.

EBNW Story on Google News

Published at :

EBNW Story is managed by students of Saksham Sanchar Foundation. If you like the efforts to make #BrilliantBharat, you can encourage them through donation - Thank you