ICC T20 World Cup 2024 – Groups, Schedule and Many More 

Priyanshi Pareek

In 2024, cricket fans are eagerly anticipating the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, set to unfold over 29 days. Co-hosted by the USA and West Indies, this edition is historic with 20 teams participating, adding excitement to the tournament.

In a historic first for the ICC World Cup, the participation of 20 teams includes the debut of the African nation Uganda in this prestigious tournament.

The tournament is set to feature a total of 55 matches spread across nine venues, with six stadiums situated in the West Indies and the remaining ones in the USA. The West Indies will host the Super Eight matches and the knockout stage.

The T20 World Cup, cricket’s premier short-format event, is poised to kick off at the Grand Prairie stadium in Dallas. The historic opener on June 1, 2024, will showcase a clash between the USA and Canada. Co-hosted by the USA and West Indies, the tournament carries the goal of elevating cricket’s popularity in the American market.

T20 World Cup: Groups

The teams are grouped into four, each consisting of five sides. A significant highlight is Uganda’s debut, making history as it joins the ICC World Cup for the first time and contributing to the expanded lineup of 20 teams. The groups are as follows:

  • Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and the USA
  • Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman
  • Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea
  • Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal

Even though ranked below the ICC’s 12 Full Members, both the USA and Canada are set for their inaugural T20 World Cup experiences. ICC Chief Geoff Allardice views the USA as a cricket frontier, highlighting the significance of hosting a major ICC event in the world’s largest sports market.

T20 World Cup: Schedule

“8 photos”

Following the group stage, the Super Eight fixtures kick off on June 19, paving the way for the knockout stage. The semi-finals are slated for June 26 in Guyana and June 27 in Trinidad and Tobago, culminating in the grand finale on June 29 in Barbados.

The 2024 T20 World Cup is poised to make history, not only with expanded participation but also as the USA co-hosts for the first time. Cricket enthusiasts globally are gearing up for an exciting month filled with intense matches and unforgettable moments.

EBNW Story on Google News

Published at :

EBNW Story is managed by students of Saksham Sanchar Foundation. If you like the efforts to make #BrilliantBharat, you can encourage them through donation - Thank you