back to top
Latest UpdatesNewsFirst ever female MLA in Nagaland

First ever female MLA in Nagaland

Hekani Jakhalu won after joining politics 7 months ago, and Salhutuano Kruse won by 7 votes.

The voting began on February 16 in Tripura. Meghalaya and Nagaland held their votes on February 27. People waited for the results in all three states. However, Nagaland attracted more attention than any other state.
It has been 60 years since Nagaland became a state. Thus, no woman has yet been elected to any legislative seats, even though voters are picking a new chief executive for the 14th time. However, this time, the custom wasn’t observed.

By winning the Hekani Jakhalu Dimapur III seat, a member of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) became Nagaland’s first female MLA. 14,395 people voted for Hekani, 47. Seven months ago, she started in politics.

184 candidates were competing for the 60 assembly seats in Nagaland. However, only four of them were female. Thus, with 4 votes, Bjp’s Kahuli Sema was defeated for the Etoiju seat. Picto of the Nationalist Congress Party beat him. Just 602 votes were cast for Rosie Thomson of Congress, the fourth female contender. She was in position 1704.

In Nagaland, there are about 49.79% more female voters than male voters, meaning that both genders have an equal say in who runs the country.
Despite this, his entry into politics has always faced criticism. On the other hand, Meghalaya, which has 60 assembly seats, has a much higher proportion of women in government and society.

Published at :

Follow Us on Google News for Latest, Top, Trending, and Viral News, Photos, Videos, and Updates from Rajasthan, India and Across the World