Bamanwas village in Rajasthan produced around 200 officials, who are currently serving India in diverse roles

‘Bamanwas’ is a small village situated in Sawai Madhopur district of Rajasthan from where around 200 administrative officers are serving the nation.

On January 26, 2022, Charan Singh Meena, IPS Odisha cadre working as SP in Bhadrak, (from sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan ) has been awarded Governor medal for his outstanding performance as SP.

The story of Bamanwas in fact is quiet interesting as many families have their sons serving India as IAS, IPS or other officers

There is a family where two brothers became Director General of Police, while the third brother became the Chief Secretary of the state. Both brothers who became Director General of Police became MPs after retirement, one of them reached the rank of Union Minister of State for Finance.

A brother of the same family was posted in Mumbai as a customs officer, while another brother retired from the post of secretary at the center.

Namonarayan Meena, the eldest of five sons of Shriram Meena, resident of Bamanwas village, became the Director General of Police of the state after becoming an IPS officer and then became an MP by winning the Lok Sabha elections from Sawai Madhopur on a Congress ticket. Meena was also the Minister of State for Finance in the Manmohan Singh government.

His younger brother Harish Meena also became the Director General of Police of the state after becoming an IPS officer. Harish contested the last Lok Sabha elections on a BJP ticket and defeated his own younger brother Namonarayan Meena. Namonarayan was a Congress candidate. One of his brothers, OP Meena, became the Chief Secretary of the state and retired.

There are 50 families of the village whose members either became IAS or became IPS and IRS, some went to railway service. Some members of these families are posted in various administrative services of Rajasthan. The people of this village say with great pride that in most of the states of the country, a person from Bamanwas village will be found sitting at some post. Four MPs were made from this village, these include Jaskaur Meena, Usha Meena, Ramkunwar Meena and Chuttan Lal Meena. Jaskaur, presently MP from Rajasthan, was also a minister in the Vajpayee government. In the same village Bharatlal Meena became MLA thrice and Naval Kishore Meena twice.

EBNW Story on Google News

Published at :

EBNW Story is managed by students of Saksham Sanchar Foundation. If you like the efforts to make #BrilliantBharat, you can encourage them through donation - Thank you