back to top

Tamil Nadu’s economic advisory council: Raghuram Rajan & other economic experts appointed members

The Tamil Nadu government has decided to constitute an “Economic advisory council to the chief minister in which leading economic experts from across the world including former Governor of RBI Raghuram Rajan are its members.

This advisory council will comprise of leading economic experts from across the world as its members. Its members include Nobel laureate Esther Duflo of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in USA, former Reserve Bank of India governor, Raghuram Rajan, former chief economic advisor to central government, Dr Arvind Subramanian, Development economist, Jean Dreze and former Union finance secretary Dr S Narayan.

On the basis of recommendations of this council, government will revitalise economy in the state and ensure that benefits of economic growth reach all segments of society.

In fact, other than this council, PMEAC is another body which functions as a non-constitutional, non-permanent and independent body which have been constituted to provide economic advice to Government, specifically Prime Minister. It serves to highlight key economic issues that country faces such as inflation, microfinance, and industrial output. Council has been constituted several times since independence. Recently, Prime minister Modi revived the council in 2017. Presently, Bibek Debroy is the acting chairman of PMEAC. NITI Aayog serves as the Nodal Agency for PMEAC for administrative, logistic, planning and budgeting purposes.

Published at :

EBNW Story is managed by students of Saksham Sanchar Foundation. If you like the efforts to make #BrilliantBharat, you can encourage them through donation - Thank you